> News > Haverford School
Hall of Fame Induction

Search Squashtalk

Haverford Inducts Singular Squash Team

By Rob Dinerman, March 6, 2006
Squashtalk Independent News; ©
2006 SquashTalk LLC


Recent Events:
World Open
US Open
St Louis

Other info:
Audi interviews
Player profiles


Feather Sports


school squash

Star-Studded Squash Squad Inducted Into The Haverford School Hall
Of Fame
than three hundred people jammed the Neil Buckley Pavilion at The
Haverford School on the evening of February 25th, when the school’s
Hall Of Fame inducted the 1982-83 squash team. This was only the
second squash-related Haverford School induction ceremony (the previous
honoree being Ralph E. Howe, class of ’59, who was elected into the
USSRA Hall Of Fame in the inaugural class of 2003 after a career
in which he was U. S. National and North American Open champion in
both singles and doubles) and the first time that a TEAM in any sport
was given this level of recognition by the prominent suburban-Philadelphia

The squad, coached by the legendary George Haines, went undefeated
in Inter-AC competition that year and even pounded (eight matches to
one) a Dartmouth team that was ranked sixth in the college standings.
Amazingly, no fewer than NINE of the 10 team members went on to captain
highly-ranked college teams, and it can be safely said that that varsity
left a legacy that profoundly influenced both college squash during
the second half of the 1980’s and the amateur and professional game
throughout the 1990’s and extending even up to the present time.

No. 1 position that year was split between Morris Clothier ’83, who
co-captained Franklin & Marshall to the No.
2 intercollegiate team ranking in 1986-87 and who went on to record
his ninth U. S. National Doubles title last spring, a record for
a right-wall player, and Russ Ball ’84, who starred on four national-champion
teams at Harvard and reached the final of the U. S. National Singles
his senior year. Behind them were Chris Spahr ’83 and Beau Buford
’84, Clothier’s F & M teammates and later multi-titled
doubles players in their own rights; Spahr’s younger brother Terry
’84, who starred at the University of Pennsylvania and later won both
the Atlantic Coast and Woodruff-Nee championships in the early-1990’s;
George Krall ’83, Bruce Hauptfuhrer ’83, Alex Cuthbert ’83 and Dan
Hutchinson ’85, who would subsequently serve as team captains at Yale,
Trinity, Dartmouth and Harvard respectively; and Robert Hobbs ’85.

In addition to the 1982-83 squash team, the Haverford School Hall
Of Fame class of ’06 consists of five athletic stars (and one coach)
in other sports, whose induction (in some cases posthumously) this
past Saturday evening brings to 43 the number of members in the four
years since the Hall began.

NEW … Get the New Jonathon
Power Instruction Video at the SquashTalk

All materials © 1999-2005. Communicate with us at info@squashtalk.com.
by Squashtalk LLC, 409 Massachusetts Ave, Suite 102, Acton, MA 01720 USA, Editor
and Publisher Ron Beck,
Graphics editor Debra Tessier
comments, ideas, contributions and feedback to the webmaster.

Copyright © 1999-2005 SquashTalk, all rights reserved, may not be reproduced
in any form except for one-time personal use.